Free Hardware

Click for details

Why shop with Spytec? Click for details

You have five trucks, or twelve, or forty. You want to know what GPS tracking is going to cost you next year. So you open five vendor websites, and four of them ask for your phone number.

That is the actual problem with pricing fleet tracking in 2026, and it is why so many owners end up guessing. In August we tried to solve it properly: we audited twelve U.S. fleet GPS providers using only their own published materials and built out the recurring cost at four fleet sizes. The full write-up lives in the 2026 Small-Fleet GPS Pricing & Features Study. This page is the short version: what it costs at 5, 10, 25 and 50 vehicles, what moves the number, and why the price on the website usually is not the price you pay.

Spytec GPS is a self-serve GPS fleet tracking platform built for small and mid-size fleets, with free hardware on every plan, no contracts, and published pricing from $8.95 per vehicle per month on the annual plan.

What small-fleet GPS tracking costs in 2026

Across the providers that publish a price a buyer can actually use, standard fleet tracking runs roughly $7 to $25 per vehicle per month. The middle of that group sits around $16.

That range is wider than it looks, because it compounds. Here is what it works out to as an annual subscription bill, using the modeled figures from the study.

Fleet size Spytec (annual plan) Range across the five providers with reproducible public pricing Gap, low to high
5 vehicles $510.15/yr
$8.50/vehicle/mo
$510 – $1,500 $990/yr
10 vehicles $966.60/yr
$8.06/vehicle/mo
$967 – $3,000 $2,033/yr
25 vehicles $2,282.25/yr
$7.61/vehicle/mo
$2,282 – $7,500 $5,218/yr
50 vehicles $4,296.00/yr
$7.16/vehicle/mo
$4,296 – $15,000 $10,704/yr

Modeled recurring subscription only, from first-party published pricing as of the study's August 31, 2026 research date, re-checked September 17, 2026. Spytec figures are the Pulse OBD plug-in tracker on the annual plan with automatic volume discounts applied. Full methodology, source ledger and per-provider detail are in the study.

The spread gets worse as you grow

At five vehicles, picking the wrong provider costs you about a thousand dollars a year. Annoying, survivable. At fifty, the same decision is a 3.5x difference and $10,704 a year, which is a truck payment, a tech's benefits package, or most of a year of fuel for two vans.

This is the part small fleets tend to get backwards. When you are running five trucks, the per-vehicle rate feels like a rounding error and it is tempting not to think hard about it. But you are picking the provider you will still be on at twenty-five trucks, and that is where the pricing model starts to actually hurt.

GPS tracking cost by fleet size: 5, 10, 25 and 50 vehicles

A few things change as you scale, and they are worth naming.

At 5 vehicles you are at the threshold where volume pricing starts to exist at all, if your provider has any. Spytec's automatic discount kicks in at 5 devices. Several providers in the study publish no volume discount at all, which means their per-vehicle rate at 50 trucks is the same as their rate at 5.

At 10 vehicles the gap first gets big enough to fund something real. $2,033 a year is a set of tires across the fleet.

At 25 vehicles you are past where most self-serve checkouts are designed to go, and several vendors will push you toward a sales call. That is framed as getting you a better deal, and sometimes it is. It is also where published pricing stops constraining what you get quoted.

At 50 vehicles the compounding is doing all the work. Two providers in the study model out to $15,000 a year at this size, purely on a $25 per-vehicle rate with no volume break.

Why the advertised monthly rate usually is not your rate

Here is the uncomfortable finding from the audit: of twelve providers reviewed, only five published a price we could turn into a real recurring cost at all four fleet sizes without contacting sales or picking between two conflicting numbers on the same vendor's own website. Two of the twelve published two different starting prices in their own current materials. One described its hardware as included in the subscription on one page and as an upfront device payment on another.

So before you compare two monthly rates, four things need checking.

1. The advertised price is usually the annual-prepay price

The number on the homepage is almost always the discounted rate that requires paying twelve months up front. Spytec's is $8.95 on the annual plan and $14.95 month-to-month. One provider in the study lists $16 per asset annually and $20 month-to-month, with the annual rate explicitly requiring a year paid upfront. Across the providers we modeled, the annual rate runs 20% to 40% below the month-to-month rate for the same service. Compare one vendor's annual price against another's monthly price and you are wrong before you start.

2. Annual billing and a contract are not the same thing

These get used interchangeably and they are completely different commitments. Annual billing means you pay for a year at once. A contract means you are legally on the hook for a term whether you keep the service or not. You can have one without the other. Among the five modeled providers, one publishes a 12-month initial term, one publishes an early-termination fee of $15 times the months remaining, and one discloses no contract terms at all on its pricing pages. Ask which you are signing.

3. Hardware is the line item nobody advertises

"Free hardware" means different things. Sometimes the device is genuinely yours. Sometimes it is free for as long as you stay a customer and goes back when you leave. Sometimes it is free only if you sign a three-year term, and costs $69 a unit if you do not. And on several vendors' pricing pages, hardware cost is simply not disclosed in any form. On a 25-truck fleet, a $99 device you did not budget for is $2,475.

4. The cheapest plan may not include what you are buying it for

Entry plans get feature-gated. Before you compare rates, check whether maintenance reminders, geofences, driver behavior scoring, reporting, and customer ETA sharing are in the plan you are pricing, or in the tier above it. Location history retention varies too, from three months at the short end to three years at the long end, which matters the first time you need to prove where a truck was six months ago.

Our pricing is on a page, not behind a form. Free hardware, no activation fee, no contract, volume discounts that apply automatically at checkout, and 30 days to change your mind.

See transparent fleet pricing →

The five providers that publish a usable price

These are the providers whose current first-party pricing could be reproduced without a sales call. Everything here is their published standard rate, not a negotiated one.

Provider Published rate What that rate involves
Spytec GPS
Pulse OBD
$8.95/device/mo annual
$14.95 month-to-month
Free hardware, $0 activation, no contract, cancel anytime with no fee, automatic 5–25% volume discounts, 30-day money-back guarantee
Quartix
Info Point
$14.00/vehicle/mo No setup fee, installation included, customer owns the units, 12-month initial contract, no volume discount published
Momentum IoT
Eagle One
$16.00/asset/mo annual
$20.00 month-to-month
No upfront hardware or activation cost, self-install, no-contract monthly option; the annual rate requires 12 months paid upfront
Linxup
Plug-in vehicle tracker
$25.00/vehicle/mo Hardware $69 one-time on the no-contract option and free on a 3-year term; no-contract, 2-year and 3-year options published; cancellation effective after 31 days with an early-termination fee of $15 × months remaining
Azuga
BasicFleet
$25.00/vehicle/mo Hardware cost, contract length, billing basis and cancellation terms are not disclosed on the published pricing pages

Rates verified against each provider's own pricing pages on September 17, 2026. Two notes on the modeled totals above: Linxup publishes a discount of 20% off service plus free hardware on orders of 5+ devices with a 3-year contract, which is not reflected in the standard-rate model; and Quartix is currently running a limited-time 25% off the first year for switching customers. Promotional and term-committed pricing moves these numbers. Standard published rates are what the study models, because they are the only thing every provider has in common.

The other seven providers reviewed, including the enterprise names most people start with, either quote only through sales, route through resellers, or publish prices that contradict each other. If you are evaluating those specifically, we broke them down in our fleet GPS tracking pricing comparison, and we wrote up what happened when we tried to get a straight number out of the four largest vendors without a contract.

How to compare two quotes in five minutes

Put both options on the same footing before you look at the rate:

  • Multiply out three years, not one. Rate × vehicles × 36, plus hardware, plus activation and install. That is the number that matters.
  • Normalize the billing basis. Annual rate against annual rate, or monthly against monthly. Never one against the other.
  • Write down the exit. What does it cost to leave in month 14, and what happens to the hardware?
  • Price the plan you'd actually use, with the features you need in it, not the entry tier.
  • Check the volume break at your real fleet size, including the size you expect to be in two years.

If a vendor cannot answer those five in writing, that is information too. Our post on the hidden costs buried in a fleet GPS quote covers what to look for once you have a quote document in hand.

Frequently asked questions

How much does GPS tracking cost for a 10-vehicle fleet?

Among providers publishing a usable price in 2026, a 10-vehicle fleet runs between roughly $967 and $3,000 per year in subscription costs, or about $8 to $25 per vehicle per month. Spytec's Pulse OBD tracker works out to $966.60 per year for 10 vehicles on the annual plan, which is $8.06 per vehicle per month after the automatic 10% volume discount. Hardware is free and there is no contract.

What is the average cost per vehicle for fleet GPS tracking?

The middle of the market sits around $16 per vehicle per month for standard fleet tracking. The full published range among providers with reproducible pricing is about $7 to $25 per vehicle per month. Rates above that usually include additional hardware such as AI dash cams, or reflect enterprise plans sold through a sales process rather than a published price.

Is GPS tracking hardware really free?

It depends on the provider, and the word "free" is doing a lot of different jobs. With Spytec, the tracker is free with every plan and there is no activation fee or hardware charge at any point. Other providers offer free hardware only on a multi-year contract, lend it for the life of the subscription and take it back on cancellation, or do not disclose hardware cost on their pricing pages at all. Always confirm what happens to the device if you cancel.

Do I need a contract for small fleet GPS tracking?

No. Several providers, including Spytec, sell fleet tracking month to month with no term commitment and no cancellation fee. Others publish a 12-month initial term, or an early-termination fee calculated as a fixed amount times the months remaining on your term. Annual billing is a separate question from a contract: paying for a year at once does not by itself lock you into a multi-year commitment.

Why do most fleet GPS companies hide their prices?

Quoted pricing lets a vendor set a different number for each buyer based on fleet size, urgency, and how much competitive pressure is in the deal. Of the twelve providers reviewed in our 2026 study, only five published an exact per-vehicle price a U.S. buyer could turn into a recurring cost without submitting contact information. That opacity is itself a cost, because it means you cannot compare options without spending several hours on sales calls.

The bottom line

For a small service fleet in 2026, budget somewhere between $7 and $25 per vehicle per month, and understand that where you land in that range is mostly about the pricing model rather than the product. The published rate is the beginning of the comparison, not the end of it. Multiply out three years, normalize the billing basis, price the hardware and the exit, and the 3.5x spread we found at 50 vehicles usually turns out to be explainable, and avoidable.

If you want the underlying work, the 2026 Small-Fleet GPS Pricing & Features Study has the full methodology, all twelve providers, the feature matrix, the downloadable dataset, and a source link for every figure. We ran it on ourselves too, and published the exclusions.

Price your own fleet in about a minute. The Pulse OBD plug-in tracker is $8.95 per vehicle per month on the annual plan with free hardware, and volume discounts of 5% to 25% apply automatically at checkout. No sales call, no contract, 30-day money-back guarantee.

See transparent fleet pricing →

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.